Difference between Soviet Union and Russia

Difference between Soviet Union and Russia
Difference between Soviet Union and Russia

Difference between Soviet Union and Russia: The USSR (Union of Soviet Socialist Republics) was formed after the Civil war of 1921 and became the World’s first Marxist-Communist state in the world.

After that, it would become one of the biggest and most powerful nations in the world. In this article, we have explained the terms of the Soviet Union and Russia and also differentiated both the terms which will enhance the general knowledge of the readers.

The Soviet Union was a union of 15 republican states. It existed from 1922 until its fall in 1991. The Soviet Union was basically a one-party state which was clung to the Communist regime of government. I had hosted syncretic culture and ethnicities in one, singular state.


On the other hand, Russia refers to a particular location, government, and country in the world. After the Russian revolution of 1917, it joined the Soviet Union as one of its republics. It works under a semi-presidential government headed by the Prime Minister.

It was the dominant state of the Soviet Union before the disintegration of the USSR. It became an independent country after the dissolution of the Soviet Union in December 1991.

At the time of the formation of the Soviet Union, Russia existed and after disintegration, it also existed, but the difference was that before disintegration Russia was part of the Union and after disintegration, it became Russia as an independent state.

Today, its government is a federal republic and has its own culture and traditions that are distinct from those of its former members of the Soviet Union.

Hence, we can say the main difference between Russia and the Soviet Union is that Russia is a country, whereas the Soviet Union was a political state, in which Russia was one of the republic’s states.

Russia Vs USSR (Soviet Union)

RussiaSoviet Union
It is the world’s largest nation, borders European and Asian countries as well as the Pacific and Arctic oceans.It is a former federation of Communist republics comprised of 15 republics.
It is officially known as the Russian FederationIt is officially known as the Union of Soviet Socialist Republic.
It has a multi-party system.It had a single-party state and govern on the philosophy of Marxist-Communist.
It has its own distinct identity, culture, and traditions.It had syncretic ethnicities, cultures, and traditions. In other words, the union of ethnicities, culture, and tradition.

Download this article in MS Word format.

Loader Loading...
EAD Logo Taking too long?
Reload Reload document
| Open Open in new tab

Download [66.25 KB]


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.